About us

Welcome to Broadband Communication and Network Automation Research Group (BCRG) official web site. Our research focuses include:

  • AI-Enabled Autonomous 5G+ Systems
  • Data - Driven Networks
  • Unmanned Aerial Networks (UAV)
  • Digital Twin Networks

BCRG has 11 active members including 7 PhD and 2 MS students and 2 BSc students.

  • Berk Canberk, PhD

     b[DOT]canberk[AT]napier[DOT]ac[DOT]uk, canberk[AT]itu[DOT]edu[DOT]tr,


    School of Computing, Engineering and The Built Environment | Edinburgh Napier University

    Artificial Intelligence and Data Engineering | Istanbul Technical University

    Academic Director

    Research and Innovation | BTS Group

    He is a Professor at the Department of Artificial Intelligence and Data Engineering in Istanbul Technical University (ITU), and Professor at the School of Computing, Engineering and The Built Environment in Edinburgh Napier University. Since October 2016, He is also an Adjunct Professor in the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at Northeastern University, Boston-USA. Also, Between January 2016 - July 2016, he was a Visiting Associate Professor in the School of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at Queen’s University Belfast (QUB), UK. He was a Visiting Assistant Professor in the Department of Electronic and Communication Engineering at Tampere University of Technology, Finland, between June 2015 - September 2015.

    Dr. Canberk is a Senior Member of the IEEE, Member of the ACM and Member of the IET. He serves as an Editor in IEEE Transactions in Vehicular Technology, Elsevier Computer Networks and Elsevier Computer Communications Journal. He is a Board Member / Observer of the IEEE 1900.5 Cognitive Radio for Dynamic Spectrum Access and IEEE Tactile Internet Standardization Working Groups. He is a group member of Internet Research Task Force’s Network Management Research Group (IRTF NMRG). He has been involved in several international conferences as technical program co-chair, symposium chair, demo/poster chair, regional chair, publicity chair, tutorial chair, and TPC member.

Recent Achievements